European Commission encourages Schengen member states to extend travel ban to mid Jun-2020

    European Commission invited (08-May-2020) Schengen member states and Schengen associated states to extend the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU for another 30 days until 15-Jun-2020. The Commission stated the situation “remains fragile both in Europe and worldwide” which “calls for continued measures at the external borders to reduce the risk of the disease spreading through travel to the EU“. The travel restriction does not apply to EU citizens, citizens of non-EU Schengen countries and family members and non-EU nationals who are long term residents in the EU for the purpose of returning home. [more – original PR]