EMEA appointment wrap of the month – Mar-2018


    The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Europe, Middle East and Africa regions witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the EMEA market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month. Here are the key executive changes for Mar-2018:

    • Aeroflot announced the resignation of deputy CEO for strategy and alliances Giorgio Callegari to pursue personal interests.
    • SE Lithuanian Airports appointed Marius Gelžinis as CEO and Algirdas Makulavičius as Palanga International Airport director, effective 01-Mar-2018.
    • CargoLogicAir announced Dmitry Grishin handed over responsibilities to new CEO David Kerr.
    • SE Lithuanian Airports announced the following appointments:
      1. Justinas Stepšys: Appointed Vilnius International Airport interim director, replacing
      2. Olafas Martens, who steps down as director, effective 23-Mar-2018;
      3. Tomas Urbonas: Appointed Kaunas Airport interim director.
    • Airlines for Europe (A4E) appointed International Airlines Group CEO Willie Walsh as A4E steering board chair on 06-Mar-2018.
    • SAS’ board nomination committee proposed to appoint Carsten Dilling as chairman, replacing Fritz Schur effective 10-Apr-2018.
    • Cargojet appointed Crane Capital Group president and CEO James R Crane as chairman on 08-Mar-2018.
    • Safarilink appointed Mbuvi Ngunze as non executive chairman, succeeding Aslam Khan effective Mar-2018
    • Finavia announced plans to appoint Joni Sundelin as Helsinki-Vantaa Airport director, effective 01-Apr-2018
    • Royal Schiphol Group has appointed Dick Benschop as its new CEO effective 01-May-2018, as Jos Nijhuis will retire from the role.
    • Nordic Aviation Capital(NAC) appointed Steve Gorman as Chief Funding Officer, effective 14-Mar-2018.
    • AirFi appointed Eli Atiya as COO.
    • SR Technics appointed Frank Walschot as CEO, effective 01-Apr-2018.
    • TAP Portugal changed its leadership structure, with CEO Antonoaldo Neves to directly oversee the following executives:
      1. CFO Raffael Quintas;
      2. COO Sami Foguel;
      3. Chief revenue officer Elton D’Souza;
      4. Chief technology officer M Lobato Faria;
      5. Chief strategy officer Trey Urbahn;
      6. Chief controller officer David Pedrosa;
      7. Chief marketing and sales officer Abílio Martins.
    • Billund Airport appointed commercial director Jan Hessellund as interim director, as airport director Kjeld Zacho Jørgensen announced plans to resign, effective May-2018.
    • Skyguide appointed Nicole Leyre as CFO, succeeding Marc Bohren who will retire on 01-Jul-2018.
    • Ireland West Airport appointed Arthur French as chairman on 11-Mar-2018, replacing long serving chairman Joe Kennedy who becomes honorary president of the airport.
    • South African Airways(SAA) appointed Nona Sonjani as acting CFO and Wellington Nyuswa as SAA Technical acting CEO.
    • TUI Group appointed Birgit Conix as CFO, succeeding Horst Baier, effective 15-July-2018.
    • Helvetic Airways appointed Tobias Pogorevc as CEO on 01-Apr-2018, succeeding Bruno Jans who will remain “dedicated to upcoming special projects”.
    • Flughafen Köln/Bonn GmbH supervisory board plans to appoint Johan Vanneste as management board chairman & CEO, effective 01-Jun-2018. Mr Vanneste previously served as Luxembourg Findel Airport president and CEO since 2014.
    • Luxembourg Findel Airport appointed commercial director René Steinhaus as interim CEO
    • Bremen Airport Hans Koschnick appointed Elmar Kleinert as CEO, effective summer 2018.
    • Brussels Airlines appointed Dieter Vranckx as CFO, deputy CEO and the third member of the management board, effective 01-May-2018.
    • Azur Air appointed Yury Stogniy as director general, effective 14-Mar-2018.
    • Copenhagen Airports A/S announced CFO Lars Jønstrup Dollerup plans to leave the company in late Jun-2018.
    • Pskov Oblast Government announced the appointment of Pskov Oblast Deputy Governor Aleksandr Kuznetsov to the position of chairman of the board of Pskovavia on 21-Mar-2018.
    • WISAG announced WISAG Aviation Service GmbH CEO Holger Follmann departed WISAG, effective 31-Mar-2018. WISAG CEO Michael C Wisser assumed the post of WISAG Aviation Service CEO.
    • Stellwagen appointed Aengus Whelan as chief commercial officer, effective 19-Mar-2018. Mr Whelan previously served as MD and head of trading at ALAFCO.
    • Yakutia Airlines’ board approved the appointment of Andrey Zubarev to the position of deputy director general on 22-Mar-2018.
    • Joramco chief commercial officer Husam Zayed retired on 25-Mar-2018.
    • RUAG announced chairman Hans-Peter Schwald will not stand for re-election, after 16 years in the position. The Swiss Federal Council approved the nomination of deputy chairman Dr Remo Lütolf as chairman.
    • QinetiQ appointed Dr Nic Anderson as MD for air and space, effective May-2018 and succeeding John Anderson who will be retiring.
    • Board of Airline Representatives in Switzerland (BARIS) appointed Jürg Müller as president.
    • Avion Express appointed Darius Kajokas as CEO, effective 04-Apr-2018.
    • Airlink board of trustees named Steven J Smith as president and CEO on 02-Apr-2018.
    • Libyan African Aviation Holding Company (LAAHC) announced the appointment of Abu Bakr Mohammed Al-Qadi as chairman of Afriqiyah Airlines on 01-Apr-2018.