Australia implements ‘do not travel’ ban

    Australia‘s Prime Minister Scott Morrison implemented (24-Mar-2020) a ‘do not travel’ ban on Australians travelling overseas under the Biosecurity Act 2015, to help prevent travellers returning to Australia with coronavirus and the risk of spreading coronavirus to other countries. Exemptions will be managed by the Australian Border Force and will apply to a range of categories of travellers, including for those citizens ordinarily resident overseas, where travel is essential or necessary, travel is of national interest, and on compassionate and humanitarian grounds. The prohibition is aligned with the Government’s decision to raise Smartraveller Travel Advice ‘to Level 4 – Do Not Travel’ overseas.