ASPAC appointment wrap of the month – September 2017


    The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Asia Pacific region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market.

    Blue Swan will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the ASPAC market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month.

    Here are the key executive changes for Sep-2017:

    • Samoa Airways announced key commercial appointments as it prepares to launch ticket sales during the first week of Sep-2017. Dwayne Bentley recently joined the airline as marketing and communications specialist based in Apia and Mailo Tiaga (Alfred) Senara will assume the position of regional sales manager New Zealand/Australia based in Auckland.
    • Mantra Group CEO Bob East was appointed to the chair of Tourism Australia
    • Christchurch Airport announced chairman David Mackenzie will be stepping down from Oct-2017, following nine years in the role. The company appointed Catherine Drayton as successor.
    • Pakistan International Airlines confirmed the appointment of Dr Musharraf Rasool Cyan as CEO.
    • Australia’s Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Darren Chester announced a number of appointments to provide support and stability to the operations of two key portfolio agencies:
      • John Weber appointed as deputy chair of Airservices Australia for a three year period, would bring a wealth of governance, government agency and legal experience to the role;
      • Dr Marlene Kanga appointed to the Airservices Australia board for a three year term;
      • Samantha Betzien reappointed to the Airservices Australia board for a two year term;
      • Noel Hart reappointed to the Commission of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) for a further two year term.
    • Vueling appointed Nick Ashton as head of alliances, a new position created in the carrier. Mr Ashton has industry experience at Virgin Australia and Qatar Airways.
    • Jet Airways chairman Naresh Goyal announced that Harsh Mohan, chief group support services officer of Etihad Aviation Group, has been appointed to the Jet Airways board of directors. He will be Etihad’s nominee to the board. Etihad Airways has two vacant positions on the board following the resignation of Group CEO James Hogan and CFO James Rigney.
    • Nok Air appointed Sommai Phasee as independent director and chairman, Chiraporn Chemnasiri as independent director and audit committee member and Prawet Ongartsittikul as director, effective 11-Sep-2017.
    • Nok Air announced the resignation of (former CEO) Patee Sarasin’s appointment as vice chairman, effective 14-Sep-2017. Deputy CEO Piya Yodmani replaced Mr Sarasin as CEO, also effective 14-Sep-2017.
    • Nok Air CEO Piya Yodmani resigned as NokScoot CEO on 15-Sep-2017 and NokScoot chairman Chokchai Panyayong was appointed acting CEO.
    • Air Canada appointed former Air New Zealand CEO Rob Fyfe to its board of directors, effective 30-Sep-2017.
    • Jetstar Japan announced changes to its management structure with CEO Gerry Turner replacing Masaru Kataoka as chairman, effective 08-Sep-2017. Mr Kataoka has assumed the position of president and representative director. Jetstar Group executive manager of customer and strategy Nicolas Rohrlach has been appointed chief executive advisor, overseeing Jetstar Japan’s day to day operations with the management team.
    • StarLux Airlines appointed former EVA Air corporate planning VP Glen Chai as its inaugural president, effective 01-Sep-2017.
    • Tonga’s Ministry of Information and Communications announced the appointment of ‘Emeline ‘Uheina Tuita as CEO of the Ministry of Tourism from 15-Sep-2017 for a period of four years.
    • Air New Zealand announced CFO C Rob McDonald will be leaving the company at the end of 2017. Jeff McDowall, currently group general manager corporate finance, will succeed Mr McDonald as at 01-Jan-2018.
    • Port Hedland Airport appointed Rod Evans as GM for a three year period. Mr Evans was in an acting capacity since May-2017.
    • Tourism and Events Queensland appointed Brett Godfrey as its new chair. Mr Godfrey was co founder and former CEO of Virgin Australia, and has also served as deputy chair of Tourism Australia.
    • Air New Zealand announced the appointment of Nick Judd as chief strategy, networks and alliances officer, effective 02-Oct-2017. Mr Judd replaces Stephen Jones who was appointed EVP & Deputy CEO of Wizz Air.
    • Hobart Airport appointed Sarah Renner as CEO from 06-Nov-2017
    • Whitsunday Regional Council appointed Brian Joiner as GM of Proserpine Whitsunday Coast Airport and commercial infrastructure
    • Sydney Airport appointed Geoff Culbert as CEO, succeeding Kerrie Mather from Jan-2018.
    • Tourism Industry Aotearoa(TIA) chair Grant Webster reported the association’s 2017-18 board includes three new members: Gillian Millar from AccorHotels, Steve Sanderson from Wellington Airport and Duncan Small from Air New Zealand.
    • Sabre Corporation named Vish Saoji as chief technology officer (CTO), effective 05-Sep-2017. Replaces EVP Chief Product & Tech Officer Deborah Kerr.
    • China Aircraft Leasing Company (CALC) appointed Sean Farnan as VP of procurement, effective immediately.
    • dnata promoted Nick Moore as CEO of dnata Singapore, having previously held the role of dnata Singapore CCO.