ASPAC appointment wrap of the month – Feb-2018


    The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Asia Pacific region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the ASPAC market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month. Here are the key executive changes for Dec-2017 and Jan-2018:

    • Aerotask announced Marian Pistik has sold his majority stake in the company and has decided to step down as CEO.
    • Chengdu Airlines appointed Tang Jin as chairman, succeeding Zhuang Haogang.
    • Qantas confirmed it appointed Jeffrey Choi as chief information security officer (CISO) in Nov-2017, replacing Darren Argyle.
    • Commercial Aircraft Corporation of China (COMAC) announced (31-Jan-2018) the following executive appointments:
      • Chairman and president: Zhao Yuerang;
      • Vice president: Guo Bozhi, Cheng Fubo, Zhou Xinmin;
      • Chief accountant: Zhou Qimin.
    • North Queensland Airports appointed Mark Hope as CFO, effective 12-Feb-2018.
    • XL Catlin appointed Phil Xue as CEO, pending regulatory approval.
    • Swire Pacific announced the appointment of Merlin Swire as chairman of Swire Pacific, with effect from 01-Jul-2018, succeeding John Slosar.
    • Nauru Airlines appointed Gerard Campbell as CEO, effective 12-Feb-2018.
    • Airbus COO & President of Commercial Fabrice Bergier departs. As previously reported, Guillaume Fuary replaces Mr Bergier.
    • Lagardère Travel Retail appointed Przemek Lesniak as the new CEO of Pacific region, replacing Matthieu Mercier.
    • Virgin Atlantic announced the appointment of Gia Acitelli, who returns to the airline as commercial manager, Australia and New Zealand.
    • Nok Air appointed Prasert Bunsumpun as an independent director and chairman, effective 26-Feb-2018.
    • Virgin Australia announced Rob Thomas will step down as independent non-executive director of the Virgin Australia Group effective, 28-Feb-2018. The Virgin Australia Group also announced the appointment of Robin Kamark as an alternative director for Harsh Mohan
    • Swoop appointed Scoot founding member and former Chief Commercial Officer Steven Greenway as President, effective 05-Mar-2018.
    • AviaAM Financial Leasing China appointed Tomas Sidlauskas as CEO, effective immediately.
    • Tourism & Transport Forum Australia (TTF) announced that four new members will join its advisory board. New members comprise:
      • Rachel Argaman: CEO of TFE Hotels;
      • Sture Myrmell: President of Carnival Australia;
      • Sally Fielke: General manager corporate affairs at Sydney Airport;
      • Tom Walker: SVP and MD of Cubic Transportation Systems Asia-Pacific.