ASPAC appointment wrap of the month


    The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Asia Pacific region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the ASPAC market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month. Here are the key executive changes for Dec-2017 and Jan-2018:

    • Sunshine Coast Airport appointed Peter Pallot as CEO. Mr Pallot was appointed internally and served as GM at Sunshine Coast Airport for more than ten years;
    • Gogo appointed former Star Alliance CEO Mark Schwab as senior advisor of international sales for the company’s commercial aviation division;
    • AirAsia Japan appointed Tatsuya Tanimoto as chairman and representative director on 22-Dec-2017, replacing Takashi Ide;
    • Air India confirmed Pradeep Singh Kharola assumed the role of chairman and MD from Rajiv Bansal;
    • Adelaide Airport Limited appointed Michael Gorman as a board director, replacing retiring director Jim Tolhurst following 13 years of service;
    • Nok Air stated Brian Leslie Jeffery resigned from the position of CFO, effective 05-Dec-2017.
    • a2 Milk Company board appointed Qantas Loyalty CEO Jayne Hrdlicka as MD and CEO, to succeed Geoffrey Babidge who will retire during 2018. It is expected Ms Hrdlicka will commence her new role in early FY2019;
    • Bangalore Kempegowda International Airport announced the appointment of Karnataka Chief Secretary Ratna Prabha as chairperson of Bangalore International Airport Limited;
    • Dr Steven Kennedy replaced Mike Mrdak as Australia’s Department of Infrastructure & Transport secretary;
    • AirAsia X appointed Wong Mee Yen as CFO, succeeding Cheok Huei Shian effective 01-Jan-2018.
    • AirAsia Group manager of strategy & public relations Mayuko Wakana was appointed as AirAsia Japan CEO, replacing Osamu Hata;
    • Airbus China appointed president Eric Chen as its new Chairman, replacing Laurence Barron. George Xu was also appointed as Airbus China’s CEO in lieu of Mr Chen;
    • AirAsia stated Tony Fernandes, currently AirAsia X Berhad non-executive director, has been redesignated executive director and co-group CEO, joining current group CEO Datuk Kamarudin Meranun in the role;
    • Qantas announced the appointment of Olivia Wirth as CEO of Loyalty Business and Vanessa Hudsonas Chief Customer Officer;
    • Brisbane Airport Corporation (BAC) appointed Gert-Jan De Graaff as CEO, effective Jun-2018, replacing Julieanne Alroe. Mr De Graaff is a former BAC senior executive and is currently president and CEO of JFKIAT LLC, operator of New York John F Kennedy International Airport’s Terminal 4.
    • Japan Airlines announced the following management changes, effective 01-Apr-2018:
      • Yoshiharu Ueki: Representative director and chairman, succeeding Masaru Onishi who will retire but continue to serve on the board as director;
      • Yuji Akasaka: President and managing executive officer, succeeding Yoshiharu Ueki.
    • UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) appointed Zurab Pololikashvili as secretary general for the 2018 to 2021 period.
    • AirAsia Berhad CEO Aireen Omar was replaced by Riad Asmat, a director for corporate planning at Naza Corp Holdings.
    • Flight Centre Travel Group (FCTG) announced the appointment of former head of FCM Travel Solutions Australia, James Kavanagh, as executive GM – Flight Centre Travel Group corporate division.
    • IndiGo announced the appointment of Wolfgang Prock-Schauer as COO, subject to regulatory approvals.
    • Virgin Australia announced Nang Qi will step down from his role as a non executive director effective immediately. Mr Nang will be succeeded as HNA Group’s nominated representative on the Virgin Australia board by Ahang Kui, the joint chairman of Hong Kong Airlines. Chen Mingqiong, who was an alternative director for Mr Nang, will cease to be an alternative, effective immediately.
    • HK Express appointed Luo Cheng as CEO, effective immediately.